Dinner is served: Pizza

I’m pretty sure I can cook / grill just about anything.  It’s actually pretty easy and really anything can be cook on a grill.  Think of it as camping only a little more sophisticated.

Tonight’s menu:

Make your own pizza

disclaimer:  While I make my own dough, I cheat in other areas.  Like pre-made pizza sauce.  We have italian sausage, pepperoni, red onions and cheese (and what ever else we can scrounge from the refrigerator).

Rolling out the dough

I found a recipe for pizza crust in the Betty Crocker cookbook.  It called for 2 1/2 cups of flour.  Sure no problem… Well…. unless you just made bread the day before.  I typically keep a couple of types of flour in the pantry, usually unbleached all-purpose, bread flour and whole wheat flour.  Well I used the last of my bread flour yesterday, and turns our most of my all-purpose flour.  I ended up only having about a 1/2 cup of all-purpose.  So whole wheat pizza crust it is.

I pre-cooked the crusts just enough to firm them up a little bit so we could add our toppings.  While I was grilling the crusts, Noah was helping brown the sausage.

Then the crusts were ready for toppings, one for each of us.  We had sausage, pepperoni, red onions, and various cheeses to top our crusts.  I also pulled out some garlic cloves (of course) and sliced some on to mine and Noah’s pizzas.  Al found some jalapeno in the fridge to put on his.

Then each one had to cook.  I was trying to be very careful of not burning the bottom of the crusts too much.

Left to right- Noah's Pizza, Al's Pizza

Al’s cooked the fastest cause he had a really thin crust.  So I added mine to join Noah’s.

Look Mom- no plates to wash!

2 responses to “Dinner is served: Pizza

Leave a Reply

