Dinner is served: Grilled Shrimp and Roasted Sprouts

I’m not very original when it comes to updates or posts of what I have going on for Facebook.  I tend to post of what I’m eating or what I’m fixing for dinner.  The suggestion was made that I become a food blogger, but I’m not quite sure what that means. Here is my first attempt.

But first a few disclaimers…

I’m not very good at listing recipes.  Ingredients, SURE- but details, not so much.

80% of the time when cooking, I just wing it!  I mean, really…  I have two boys and two dogs in my house… all 4 will eat almost anything you put in front of them.  You either eat what Mom makes, or starve.

I don’t measure, I tend to eyeball.  A sprinkle here and a pinch there…

Sometimes I get caught up in the process and hurry that I forget to take pictures.  I did ok tonight, but you just wait and see.

I cook with butter, olive oil, salt and pepper, and garlic cloves.  These are staples.  If I have these I can make ANYTHING taste good.

Everything tastes better with a nice glass of red wine.  None of that white wine crap- that’s just for cooking!

Ok, continue at your own risk – cholesterol be damned (mine by the way is excellent- the only good numbers my DR. ever sees when she draws blood!)

Tonight’s Menu:

Roasted Brussel Sprouts, Shrimp Your Way, and Garlic Bread.

A nice light dinner for us.  We ate late, and have brownies from the grill’s oven for dessert.

I hard a hard time finding small brussels sprouts.  I like the small ones, but larger ones work too as long as you split them open.  Take your sprout and cut off the bottom stem and remove the first couple of leaves.

Split in half

I’m a big fan of those disposable pans you can find in the baking isle at the grocery store.  I buy them on sale and stock up.  They are GREAT for roasting veggies on the grill.  In large roasting pan, put a couple of table spoons of olive oil and salt and pepper in the bottom of the pan.  Place your split Brussel sprouts cut side down.  Fill your pan.

In our house, garlic is its own food group.  We probably go through 4 or 5 whole heads of garlic weekly.  Most of which is roasted in with the veggies we eat in whole cloves. So if you don’t like garlic you can omit (and if you don’t like garlic your totally missing out), but at this step we add several cloves of garlic.  I also drizzle with more olive oil and add salt and pepper.

This goes on the grill on HIGH while its warming up.  Next I prepare the shrimp.  I like the bags of frozen shrimp that have big shrimp.  I used a whole bag and it turned out to be 29 shrimp.  This works well when its the only protein/ meat source of the meal.  I put 5 shrimp on each skewer, making 2 skewers per person.  This way we can each season how we want.  Al did his spicy with a chipotle lime rub and the other with a Zulu fire seasoning we have.  Noah was distracted by video games when I asked him what he wanted so he just went with butter and garlic.  Mine were a mix, 1 butter and garlic and 1 bbq.

Before I put these on the grill I spray it with Pam so they don’t stick.

After a good roast on the sprouts you can turn them.  Its ok if they are a little crispy on the one side…

Serve with RED wine and Garlic Bread (another staple in our house)

To be followed later by Turtle Brownies.

Try on your own and let me know how it turns out!  More to come- time permitting!

Leave a Reply

