The latest from the kitchen…

I have subscribed to a weekly delivery of organic fruits and veggies to be delivered on each Monday afternoon.  In this week’s order was a bunch of living pea sprout.  I was out of town when they were delivered so they were just left on the counter for a couple of days.  When I got home they were a little wilted so I put them in a shallow pan and add a little water and they sprang right back.  But I had no idea what to make with them.  So I went on Facebook to my favorite organic expert cousin and asked her what I should do with them.  Luckily Stephanie posted this recipe http://coconutlime.blogspot.com/2008/06/pea-shoot-pesto.html.  Well I tried it out tonight and it was very good.  I made a couple of changes to that recipe but mostly just added about 6 cloves of garlic.  Then served it with grilled shrimp on the side. Yummy!

We have also been mowing through the fruit from the weekly delivery.  One of Noah’s favorite things is apple pie.  So I went to the store the other day and found disposable personal pie pans.  Actually they were disposable pot pie pans, but same thing.  Im all about short cuts too so I picked up a couple of boxes of pie dough from the refrigerated section at the store. Anyway – we had really cool temps this morning and I had about 10 minutes before a conference call so I threw together an apple pie for him.  Think he will be having it for desert soon.

Earlier this week we had a 1/4 of cow delivered and now our freezer is packed full.  Im looking for suggestions for recipes with ground beef.  Last night I made a pan of sloppy joes with cream of mushroom soup, bbq sauce and horseradish sauce.  It was pretty good!  Whats your favorite ground beef recipe?  Whats been happening in your kitchen?

2 responses to “The latest from the kitchen…

  • Jill

    Hey Jen….one of our favorite and super easy ground beef recipes is to brown your beef and add a can of Campbells chicken gumbo soup….a little corn starch and let it simmer for about 10 min. Best sloppy joes you will ever eat…..put it on hamburger buns top with pickles mustard and a slice of pepper jack cheese..then pop in micro for a few seconds to melt cheese….i usually serve them open faced since they are too messy to pick up and eat…let me know what you think. I usually use 2 pds of beef and 2 cans of soup to make sure there are lots of easy reheatable leftovers.

Leave a Reply

